-V-i-n-t-a-g-e-

I know I know I know.
I’m a horrible blogger.
I’ll fix it eventually.
But in my absence, something OH-SO-VERY EXCITING has occurred!!!

Are you ready??? Really? Drum roll, PLEASE!

Zoe Du Jour is now on historic 25th st. in Ogden, Utah!!! Located in the upstairs of Sock Monkey’n Around Antiques!! =D

Zoe Du Jour is not only the name of my blog, but it’s also my vintage clothing and accessory shop. Until this point I’ve only sold online and to private dealers. But now, anyone can come on in and find something glorious and authentically vintage. I used to find myself discouraged when I’d go searching for great vintage in the area. There are VERY few stores who sell it in Utah (most that I’ve found are just second-hand shops), and most of those that do seem to sell vintage “style” things as opposed the real deal.

A quick lesson on Vintage:

Vintage: [vin-tij]
Adjective
Items (including clothing, books, toys, accessories, ect.) that date 25 years or older. Anything past the 1920’s can still be called vintage, but is now officially antique.

Items that LOOK vintage aren’t always, so be careful.
Example:
This bracelet below is from Forever 21 and is titled “Vintage Floral Cuff”.

However, it has been mass-produced WITHIN THE LAST YEAR and is therefore NOT vintage.
With a little further investigation, the description reads:
“Vintage inspired cuff that features leatherette trimming and a cutout floral pattern. Antique finish. Lightweight.”

Vintage INSPIRED. Antique FINISH.

“Vintage inspired” is NOT vintage.

However, this 1933 brass bracelet (available at Pinguim\’s Shop on Etsy ) IS AUTHENTIC vintage…

It’s full of history and detail that wasn’t accomplished with modern machinery. The brass doesn’t simply have an “antique finish” created by machinery, but now has authentic character added by age.

 

And that concludes today’s lesson in vintage…. I hope it helped! And if you’re looking for AUTHENTIC vintage fashion, or if you’re wondering if something you own IS vintage, come in to Sock Monkey’n Around Antiques at 263 25th st. in Ogden and ask for me! =)

loves!

xx-

Zoe

About zoedujour

I'm basically your modern-day gypsy (and I have the Czechoslovakian bloodline to back it up.). Life is meant to be lived & enjoyed. On November 5th, 2011 I married the love of my life, the one and only Mr. Geopherie Clemmons. I sing, dabble in vintage clothing sales, photography, voice over work, teaching, jewelery design and whatever else holds my interest for the moment, including this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

