Holiday food!! — The Airing of Grievances

‘Tis the season for gatherings, potlucks and parties full of people bringing prized holiday dishes to each other, hoping to bond over tastes and tales of the past. The time between Thanksgiving and Christmas has always been one of my very favorite times of year. However, it’s also one of the most difficult.

Numero Uno: I’m allergic to cranberries & celery (and holly, and ALL kinds of evergreens, and pretty much everything people decide to decorate with around this time of year.) Cranberries might not seem that harrowing, but they sneak into EVERYTHING. And celery…. what could be more harmless that a plant that is primarily composed fiber and water? Oy. Everything. It closes my throat and [ warning ya: this is kinda icky] burns my taste buds off. And it’s a sneaky little monkey… celery (and/or celery salt) are in (almost) every kind of per-packaged soup, broth and sauce.

ImageAside from allergies, I don’t understand the odd compulsion for Americans to use canned substances in EVERYTHING. We preach against drug use and then pump our nation full of preservatives, colors and things that we can’t even pronounce. These are things that wreak havoc on our society’s health. Obesity problems and eating disorders, mood disorders, sicknesses and cancers… these are all things that could be dramatically reduced if we fed our bodies (and subsequently, minds) the things that they are actually meant to run on. Not to mention the fact that people who tout 3-ingredient wonder recipes as “home-made” are totally missing the point. Sorry to burst your bubble Aunt Barb, but rice and canned soup casserole is DEFINITELY not “from scratch”.

Which brings me to my next point…

Numero Dos: A lot of people don’t know this (since it’s not exactly something I’m proud of or like about myself), but I developed an eating disorder shortly after high school. Looking back, I’ve guess I’ve always had disordered tendencies towards food, but the problem really reared it’s ugly head in a major way a few years ago. I’m healthy now, and even though my mind isn’t always 100% clear of illogical thoughts of this nature, I’ve got it under control and recognize when I’m not thinking rationally. However, sometimes well-meaning people who don’t see me on a daily basis and are privy to this facet of my personality assume that just because I’m not gorging myself on chocolate, gravy and cheese crackers, I’ve gone full-blown Ana again. However, I would go so far as to say that the people continuing to shove food in my face (and their own) after they have reached a comfortable level of full have obvious eating problems of their own that they should worry about instead of worrying about why I don’t have a mashed potato mountain and an entire turkey on my plate. Even on holidays when I indulge and eat more than I actually need to, I get snarky comments from these people about my weight. I’m a petite, healthy, active 21 year old female with a fast metabolism and a great BMI. I eat when I feel like I need to, not just because something seems appealing. This “I’m offended because you didn’t eat my caloric celery-tainted casserole” thing isn’t fair. And your comments about my body (and ANYONE’S body and food choices, actually) are uncalled for and rude. Thank goodness for my husband. He keeps me happy, healthy and deliciously full. =)

So enjoy your holidays! But please keep your eyes on your own plate, and your comments to yourself.

… unless, of course, you’re commenting on this post. 😉

About zoedujour

I'm basically your modern-day gypsy (and I have the Czechoslovakian bloodline to back it up.). Life is meant to be lived & enjoyed. On November 5th, 2011 I married the love of my life, the one and only Mr. Geopherie Clemmons. I sing, dabble in vintage clothing sales, photography, voice over work, teaching, jewelery design and whatever else holds my interest for the moment, including this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday food!! — The Airing of Grievances

  1. Jed says:

    Well it’s a good thing you haven’t been to one of my family’s parties. All the Filipino moms and grandmas would be asking you to no end to eat more of the fattening Filipino food.

  2. jenny says:

    all i could think of when i read “mashed potato mountain”

Leave a Reply

