Why, Whitney

The Queen of R&B, Whitney Houston, was found dead today (the eve of the Grammys) at the age of 48. While I won’t lie and say “I can’t believe it” (let’s be honest, here… we were all expecting it to happen sooner than later), I’m truly heartbroken to know that as long as the world turns, Whitney’s beautiful voice will never sing a fresh note ever again.

Even as a little girl, I LOVED Whitney. She sang my favorite song “When You Believe” (I actually sang it at a talent show in 3rd grade with my best friend, Laura) and was  in the cast of my favorite movie, the Disney remake of “Rodger’s and Hammerstein’s Cinderella”. Her lofty notes and soulful tone inspired me to push my voice in ways that it probably would have never grown without her influence.

Whitney Houston as the Fairy Godmother in "Cinderella"

Over the next weeks as reports and details emerge, I’m sure there will be plenty of puns and comments about her drug abuse and turbulent tabloid-fodder lifestyle. However, I’d like to remember the side of Whitney that encouraged me to follow my dreams and to never stop believing that anything is possible….

About zoedujour

I'm basically your modern-day gypsy (and I have the Czechoslovakian bloodline to back it up.). Life is meant to be lived & enjoyed. On November 5th, 2011 I married the love of my life, the one and only Mr. Geopherie Clemmons. I sing, dabble in vintage clothing sales, photography, voice over work, teaching, jewelery design and whatever else holds my interest for the moment, including this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

